
Isn’t a shoot! But …
Sooner or later, we were sure it would happen! The ball is
deflected out of bounds, the game resume with 7red throw-in
with 19” frozen on the shot clock. The ball in flight to the
basket touches the ring then bounces twice on the floor before
it been caught by 12red. The shot clock operator starts the
countdown for red team from 19”. Right or wrong?

This case is similar to the one explained in FIBA Official
Interpretations  (17-30),  but  the  interpretation  are  not
complete and probably wrong in some indications. They didn’t
cover the spectrum of situation which may be occur: as usual
we try to describe all the possible scenarios and we found a
tricky one.

When the ball hit the ring, nor clock, game & shot, have to
start! But, if the interpretations provide that the shot clock
operator  shall  not  reset  his  clock,  until  the  game  clock
starts and he must reset the shot clock to 14/24 when one team
gains the control of the ball, the interpretation didn’t cover
the case when the ball touches or is touched by a player whose
not establish the control of the ball. By rule the shot clock

start when the ball touches/is touched: art. 50.1 2nd dot! Then
reset when the ball is controlled by one team: FIBA OBRI
17-30. It seems very difficult to apply, especially when few
seconds are displayed.

We think that as during a field goal, a pass or any other
situation, live ball, if the ball touches the opponent’s ring
the shot clock must be reset and where is possible with no
display visible, including the throw-in case.

From  a  throw-in  A  in  frontcourt,  the  ball  touches  the
opponent’s  ring:
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The shot clock must be reset “blank”
The  game  clock  starts  when  the  ball  touches  or  is
touched by a player

The shot clock starts from 14” if team A control
ball in his frontcourt
The shot clock starts from 24” if team B control
ball in his backcourt
The shot clock starts from 24” if team B control
ball in his frontcourt
The shot clock starts from 14” if team A control
ball in his backcourt … and if the referees didn’t
call a ball returned to backcourt!

In many situations, likes in the clip, touch and control are
simultaneous.

If you enjoy you make the other cases when the throw-in A is
in his backcourt


