
Foul Canceled
13white in the act of shooting is fouled by 50red, while
22white pushes the 10red in rebound situation. The lead ref
calls  two  times:  one  personal  foul  (P)  on  50red  and  one
unsportmanlike foul (U) to 22white. The ref signals the two
fouls: P and U and the intention to review the U foul on the
IRS. After the reviewing of the play referee informs coach red
of his decision and then signals again to the officials table
the foul by 50red, correcting the first wrongly signal for a
foul by 10red (2 free throws), after he have canceled the U
foul by 22white; the game resumes with two free throws by
13white with players line up.

When the foul to 22white is called the ball is dead
A personal foul is a player illegal contact with an
opponent, whether the ball is live or dead (RB 34.1.1);
An unspotmanlike foul is a player contact … ° Excessive,
hard contact caused by a player in an effort to play the
ball or an opponent (RB 37.1.1 2nd dot – C2)
The IRS can be used to decide before to sign on the
scoresheet: … During any time of the game – wheter a
personal, unsportmanlike or disqualifying foul meet the
criteria for such a foul shall be upgraded or downgraded
or shall be considered a technical foul (RB 46.12 3rd
dot 3rd line)
The  foul  reviewed  even  if  not  occurred  cannot  be
cancelled (FIBA OBRI 46-11) in case the contact not
occur the U foul maybe downgraded to a P or T foul in
case of fake or swinging elbow without contact (FIBA
OBRI 46-10)
The FIBA OBRI 42-3 mustn’t be applied cause the first
and the second foul are on two different players and not
on the same player in the act of shooting (the ball
didn’t become dead).
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We can not see the IRS images examined on the court, but only
the imeages transmitted by Eurosport. The contact caused by
22white  seems  useless  and  near  the  shoulders/neck  of  the
10red, the ball is dead (or “very close to die” when the
contact occurs). The contact called U mustn’t be downgraded
and the initial decision should be confirmed. The game should
resume with 2 free throw by 13white with no players line up,
then two free throws for 10red and possession of the ball red
at the throw-in line with 14” on the clock shoot.

Many people ask us if the U foul maybe downgraded to P foul;
rules book provides that it can be done (RB 46.12 3rd dot 3rd
line), but when the foul is downgraded it cannot be cancelled
by the scoresheet (FIBA OBRI 46-11). In case of downgrading
the U foul to P foul the game resumes as follows:

If 22white foul is less or equal than the 4th white team1.
penalty in the quarter the penalty for the personal foul
by 22white will be a throw-in for red team. The game
resume with two free throws for 13white no players line
up. Even if the last free throw is scored or not the red
throw-in from the base line in back court is from the
designated throw-in place.
If 22white foul is more than the 4th white team penalty2.
in the quarter the penalty for the personal foul by
22white will be 2 free throws for 10red. The penalty is
equal to the one for the foul by 50red on 13white. Both
penalties are equal and shall be canceled; because at
the moment of the first infraction the ball was in white
team control, the game resume with a throw-in from the
offensive  base  line  in  white  front  court  with  the
seconds showed on shot clock at the moment of the first
infraction called.

Rules ranks fouls: personal, unsportmanlike, disqualifying in
a graveness stair (by damage and by sanction) IRS protocol
allows to reclassify the foul up or doun this stair, without
necessarily doing step by step. As you read we may jump from P



to D and the other way around without going through U, in some
cases P/U/D may be turned in T but a foul reviewed on the IRS
cannot be canceled!
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Perception
Many people wonder about what’s going through the mind of a
referee when he calls something that didn’t happens or miss an
infraction  that  everyone  sees.  You  can  smile  or  fall  in
desperation depending on the angle of your sight. Talking
about  an  evaluation  error,  in  some  cases,  might  be
paradoxical,  often  the  difference  between  perception  of
reality (decision) and what really happens unfortunately it’s
huge.

Perception  is  a  process  of  elaboration  of  sensorial  data
coming  from  outside  and  their  translation  in  complex
information to be entrusted to “cognitive functions”. This is
not a passive answer, fragmented, automatic, but an active and
direct organization of data. Referee must manage many complex
situations, in which data arrives through eyes and ears, in a
three-dimensional space and as a function of time: the real
marked by the clocks; the emotional conditioned by the mood;
the one of perception of the objects wich moves around and how
fast they change the position.

This complex process request the ability to express hypothesis
(not to guess) about what happens, the elaboration of all
data, associated to knowledge and experience produce choices,
sometimes simple and immediate, other times complex therefore
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slower. At any choose should match a decision: call-no call,
possibly connected with reality. Anyway in the game occurs
situations which overcome the human perceptive limit, an help
may arrive by the review of TV shots, but the limits imposed
by the IRS protocol or by the two-dimensionality of TV images,
are unable to dispel all the doubts.

At any level of officiating should match a degree of knowledge
and ability to manage the largest part of the situations, It
could be enough to stop for a moment, to understand what’s
happens  around;  the  teamwork  increases  different  point  of
sight, from comparison should germinate the seed of equity.
The main matter is to understand to have committed a blunder,
and if it possible to correct it! Turn a blind eye, push
ahead, sell the call, not to ask or to listen, may be an
immediate analgesic, but without a specific care, in a short
time the pain come back, probably harder.

The clips shows a crescendo of wrong perceptions, subjective,
where the interpretation and the consequent choose leads to a,
objective, wrong decision. The “physical” proxemic of the call
and the signal subtract lucidity and self-critical capability;
contribute to inhibit a possible help by the mates, but above
all didn’t convince nobody! If not yourself.

Today the web and the television rebounds immediately the
images worldwide, often with the intent to expose the actors
to the public derision. Once again we try, with our rereading,
to give ideas and suggestions to limit or correct the wrong
perceptions, always within the rules. Understand and develop
efficient  knowledge  and  strategies  to  not  confuse  our
perceptive system and cause it to fall into error. Gain the
skills  about  the  method  of  perceiving  the  external  world
regarding the available tools. To be able to perceive reality
not only from a subjective point of sight, but also from an
objective side, in the awareness that’s all is relative and
has not universal value. To grow up by overtaking yourself,
shifting your own limits ahead, modifying the sights angles on



ourselves and others, by boosting the changing.

Clip 1 – Goal tending, interference

The 24white shoot is blocked by 0blue in his upward flight and
before the ball has touched the backboard is sanctioned as a
violation of GT/I from the centre ref. The call arrives in
lagging behind the legal play of 0blue. The “strength” signal
by the centre ref, turns off the correct evaluation of the
trail ref who make a nod of assent with his head, to endorse
the legality of the 0blue block shoot. During the dead ball a
communication by the trail ref to his mate could repair the
mistake, but may lack courage to help and correct the mate?
Cancelling the wrong decision the ball will be awarded to the
blue team, indicated by the possession arrow, but the basket
wrongly awarded would be correctly cancelled. We don’t know if
the blue coach asks for a review of IRS, opportunity not
granted in that moment of the game.

Clip 2 – travelling violation

Few seconds left on the game clock, blue team is trailing by
2, 11blue jumps for a 3pts shoot, but 6yellow, although late,
close the shooting space with the left arm, 11blue to not take
the block shot and not having time to pass the ball, let it
fall on the floor. Releasing the ball after have lifted the
pivot  foot  11blue  has  committed  travelling  violation.  The
trail ref, well placed, after have lifted the right arm to
signal the attempt but miss the travelling call, then he bends
over  his  legs  and  indicate  with  the  two  joined  arms  an
imaginary  point  on  the  floor.  11blu  regain  the  ball  and
release another 3pts shoot to win, but the ball bounce on the
ring and the game ends. You can see in the background the
centre ref who after reporting him too the 3pts attempt, drops
his arm, probably comforted by safe expression of his mate,
closest to the play, he decide for a no call and lift shyly
half arm on the 2nd 3pts attempt. The play of 11blue is not a



fumble, an eventual touch of the ball by the leg of 6yellow
after the release of the ball by 11blue mustn’t change the
evaluation on the violation committed. Missing the call, no
decision can be taken to correct the mistake – imagine if the
second attempt enters the basket? – you can only apologize!

Clip 3 – Offensive foul

Fast break 2white stops in the paint and release a shoot,
while the ball enters sweetly in the net, the lead ref calls
an offensive foul to 2white, guilty to have pushed 6red, and
cancel the basket. The great emphasis put in the call and
signal decrease lucidity and concentration, it would be enough
to stop for a moment to understand that nobody has understood!
6red is convinced that he makes the foul, except then to
realize reality and distance themselves with his mates. No
help arrives from the other referees, turned off by the signal
sureness of the lead ref? Mostly from the centre who accompany
the fast break slowly, guilty in late. A brief analysis of the
play, by the crew, or only an answer about the moment of the
contact related to the shoot, could have light on the “lamp”
to correct the error. The foul called couldn’t be cancelled,
but since the contact occurs after the ball was released the
2pts must be granted. The game resume, after recording the
foul and the basket on the scoresheet, with a throw in from
the end line for the red team following a successful basket –
white team hasn’t finish is penalties in the period – with 24”
on the shot clock.


