
IRS: A noose around the neck?

Everyone  now  knows  what  the  instant  replay  system  is,
certainly  the  inclusion  in  football  has  made  it  popular
worldwide, so much so that at all latitudes and in many sports
we see that the protests of the players have been joined by
the  gesture  of  the  rectangle  made  with  the  index  fingers
typical of football VAR. Whoever thought that the use of the
television tool would eliminate refereeing errors was very
wrong, certainly there has been a significant reduction in
errors and many have been corrected, so the introduction can
only be considered positive.

Italy in 2005 was the first country, outside of the USA, to
introduce the IRS on basketball courts: in the National Cup
Finals and in Play-offs series and a protocol was developed.
This  was  gradually  updated  until  the  introduction  of  the
instrument  in  FIBA  competitions  (2014),  then  the  protocol
became unique and univocal for all competitions under the
aegis  of  FIBA.  In  some  countries  and  competitions,  the
protocol has undergone minor changes or additions.

The strength of the tool lies in the fact that it allows you
to go back in time and see whether the decision taken on the
court is consistent with the rules. Being able to review,
several  times,  something  that  happened  in  an  instant  or
concerns millimeters and hundredths of a second, allows to
verify and possibly correct. In order to avoid referees having
to  constantly  review  plays,  a  protocol  has  been  drawn  up
listing the situations and moments of the game in which the
tool can be used. Clearly, whoever wrote the protocol could
not foresee all possible situations, but all situations must
be brought under the protocol and under the rules! In 2020
FIBA placed the protocol in an appendix of the rulebook as
well as the interpretations of the protocol. It should be
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noted that in 2020 something also changed in the definition of
a play in the act of shoting (shooter).

The weakness of the instrument lies, as always, in the fact
that it is used by man, who often abuses it! If the images do
not provide obvious certainty, the decision should not be
changed. The biggest problems arise, however, when going to
review  the  IRS  the  referees  discover  that  the  action  was
vitiated by some other infraction or the call was totally
wrong,  perhaps  overturned,  or  as  in  our  case  completely
missed. At that moment the moral dilemma for the referee is
obvious:  to  make  the  correct  decision  (according  to  the
rules!) or to make the right decision (overriding or bypassing
the rules?).

00:03.5  At  the  end  of  the  4th  quarter,  the  black  team,
trailing by two pts throw-in the ball. The 21black’s pass
received by his teammate 6black: he dribbles, gathers the
ball, comes to a stop and then releases a three-point shot;
the ball enters the basket just when the stop-lamps come on,
the buzzer accompanies the celebration of the black players
who embrace the scorer. The referees went to the IRS and,
after reviewing the action, announced the cancellation of the
basket due to a violation of the 6black, who had stamped one
foot  on  the  sideline  while  dribbling.  The  black  coach,
incredulous, accepts the referee’s explanation. The game will
be resumed with a throw-in for the green team with 00:02.2
seconds on the game clock.

The decision taken on the court certainly does justice to the
green team, in fact the violation of 6black, inexplicably
escaped the two referees on the side of the ball is quite
obvious,  but  it  is  not  consistent  with  the  rules  and
interpretations. Probably in the referee’s mind there was a
vague  memory  of  a  similar  situation,  present  in  the  FIBA
interpretations (F-2.2), but just as probably it would have
been  more  correct  to  apply  interpretation  F-2.3.  The



difference is very subtle but the difference between a shooter
and a non-shooter is clearly defined in the rules in Article
15.

We have been talking to many insiders these days, discussing
whether interpretation F-2.2 should be applied narrowly or
loosely? That is to say, is 6black a non-shooting player or a
shooter at the moment he steps on the line, because he will be
shooting anyway! In our opinion there cannot be an elastic
application of an interpretation because the elasticity would
make the same interpretation interpretive. We are therefore in
favor of a literal application of the same, since we cannot
consider 6black as shooter by definition: when he steps on the
line  he  is  dribbling!  The  violation  not  called,  even  if
reviewed by the IRS, cannot be sanctioned because 6black at
that moment of the infraction is a “non-shooting player.

Independently of the technical error committed by the Crew, we
would like to underline that this mistake could have been
eliminated earlier. The trail referee (active) on the throw-in
after  the  pass  of  21black  makes  a  small  forward  movement
towards the playing court, but remains in line with the player
who threw in the ball. This static position does not allow him
to see when 6black steps on the line. The worry of contact
leads the trail and the lead ref to look up only, and although
they are fairly well placed neither of them puts their eyes on
the ground to “pick” the violation. More responsibility for
the trail who should however “close” towards the end line and
look  after  his  own  primary  area  of  competence.  Absolute
responsibility of the lead who in a last play with very few
seconds on the game clock must be able to look and bring help
on a decisive play. Calling immediately the ball out of bounds
violation, confirmed by an IRS review, the refs would have
guaranteed the teams and the spirit of the rules.

We are currently aware that the Turkish Federation has stated
that no mistakes were made by the referee’s team. Probably an
opinion will also have been requested from FIBA. Certainly if



there will be an answer, one way or the other, it will be the
case!  We  are  curious  to  know  in  which  direction  both
refereeing  structures  will  move.  It  is  clear  that  if  an
interpretative reading of the shooter’s status were given, the
FIBA interpretations currently in use, on the IRS, would have
to be entirely rewritten.

Starting good…

The  jump  ball  is  the  essence  of  basketball!  Individual:
fighting  to  win  the  ball;  team:  ‘just  tapping  it’  to  a
teammate. The Euroleague has decided to ennoble this moment of
the game by putting it back into its rules, not only for the
start of the game, but perhaps it is the first one that hides
the biggest pitfalls.
Do not be fooled by the television bar information, we are at
the beginning of the match, the Crew chief toss the jump ball:
43red jumps and with his arm hits the elbow of the 22white,
he’s able to tap the ball but it ends ou of bounds. The call
by  Umpire  2  awords  the  possession  to  the  red  team.  The
disappointment  of  the  poor  22white  is  visible.  The  match
doesn’t start well!
Let’s  enter  the  regulation  perimeter  and  then  make  some
considerations. The arm of 22white is high but legal (in his
cylinder) and is lifted vertically. When the ball comes out of
the referee’s hands the ball becomes live and the match has
started. The contact caused by 43red causes damage to 22white
and an advantage for the red team: a foul must be called (by
one or both umpires).
From some time many players have been positioning themselves
at the jump ball as 22white, the high arm certainly makes more
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difficult to toss the ball. It’s normal that the arms of the
players may touch, generally without making foul contact, but
it is also true that in some circumstances the contact may
create damage or bring an advantage. The referee’s skill lies
in reading the contact, assessing its nature and deciding on
the correct penalty. I would like to remind you that even
though  it  is  a  jump  ball  the  foul  does  not  have  to  be
necessarily an UF.
The contact by 43red is evident and deserves a referee’s call.
At this point the question you may have asked yourself is: is
the foul PF or UF? Is the contact made by 43red a normal
attempt to play the ball? Or is the player not interested in
playing the ball and just plays the opponent’s arm? In normal
view (real speed) how it happens, at least a PF call would
have allowed for a possible IRS review for the upgrade to UF.
Certainly a trained and above all concentrated eye, should
have detected the infraction committed by 43red. The foul is
clearly UF and falls under the first criterion of Article
37.1.1. Once UF has been called, the game would have resumed
with 2 free throws for 22white (APA exposed when the ball
became live on the first free throw, in the direction of the
red  team  attack  direction),  white  ball  possession  at  the
throw-in line in frontcourt with 10:00 on the clock.
The  jump  ball,  especially  in  EL,  often  finds  referees
unprepared, as they are not used to handling it in their
national championships, and only once per game. The posture of
jumpers like 22white needs a different throwing technique:
from higher up and with only one hand, a sort of shot with an
imperceptible parabola; small or older referees will certainly
have more difficulties. Another aspect to be taken care of,
but  this  is  before  entering  the  circle,  is  that  of  the
position of the players, who, in order to “steal” a millimetre
and create an advantage for themselves, arrange themselves in
the most disparate way, often intertwining feet, legs and
arms! Last but not least, allow us a consideration: the game
begins before the start of the clock, so the brain must be on
and working, missing a call at this moment denotes lack of



attention and concentration.


